FREE+FAST WORLD DELIVERY
UK STOCK   2 YEAR WARRANTY
MEDIA BOX  :  FORUM  :  CONTACT
Zidoo Z9X
New generation Zidoo Media Player based on Realtek 1619DR chipset. HDR10+, HDR, Dolby Vision VS10.  £179.99  €205  $243

Author Topic: [PATCH] More auto framerate switching - HIMEDIAPLAYER  (Read 182127 times)

looun

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 550
    • View Profile
    • himedia Pro Blog
Re: Q5/Q10 Pro - Auto framerate switching - HIMEDIAPLAYER PATCH
« Reply #60 on: July 20, 2016, 03:41:10 PM »
For perfectly smooth video reproduction, as video material can be recorded in a variety of frame rates (23.976fps, 24fps, 25fps, 29.97fps, 30 fps, etc.) which need to be properly matched by the refresh rate of the display, in order to be displayed smoothly.

so ..
Video fpsHDMI output Hz
2424 Hz
23,976(24/1001)23,976 hz
25/5050 hz
30/6060 hz
59.940(60/1001)59.940 hz
29.970(30/1001)59.940 hz ( 29.970 x 2 )

   
   
   

I have a dumb question.

If the Auto switching patch or fix is now part of the most recent firmware, then why would anyone need to load this  patch?  I would think this thread would go dead.

Does this mean that auto switching was NOT fixed in the recent firmware release?

 HiMedia Video Player with 24P enable support only 50/60<>23,976/24, doesn't work with 50 <> 60,50 <> 59.94 or 60 <>50 hrz ecc.. ).

himedia player video  support auto-switch to only 24P:
Android OS  setting ->  video fps -> HDMI switch output
1080p/2160 50 hz ->24/23.976 fps   -> 24/23.976 hz
1080p/2160 60 hz -> 24/23.976 fps -> 24/23.976 hz


this script increse to FULL auto-swtich:
Android OS  setting ->  video fps -> HDMI switch output
1080p/2160 50 hz ->24/23.976 fps   -> 24/23.976 hz
1080p/2160 60 hz -> 24/23.976 fps -> 24/23.976 hz

Android OS  setting ->  video fps -> HDMI switch output
1080p 50 hz -> 59.97 fps ->59.97 hz
1080p/2160 50 hz -> 60 fps -> 60 hz

Android OS  setting ->  video fps -> HDMI switch output
1080p 60 hz -> 59.97 fps  -> 59.97 hz
1080p/2160 60 hz ->  50 fps  -> 50 hz
« Last Edit: July 20, 2016, 04:24:29 PM by looun »

jeps

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
Re: Q5/Q10 Pro - Auto framerate switching - HIMEDIAPLAYER PATCH
« Reply #61 on: July 20, 2016, 05:27:47 PM »
I wonder what I am doing wrong  :(

I use firmware 1.0.5 and my TV is set for 2160p60.

If I install the framerate utillity and (as you instruct) disable 24 Hz in the HiMedia setting I get no framerate switching what so ever.
Not even other (framerates like 25p)
If I enable the 24 Hz in the HiMedia setting I get most of the frame rate switching right, but I suppose that is native firmware functionality?

Please tell I am doing wrong (or misunderstood).

Best regards!

stack

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Re: Q5/Q10 Pro - Auto framerate switching - HIMEDIAPLAYER PATCH
« Reply #62 on: July 20, 2016, 09:19:06 PM »
Did you tried after restart of the unit?
If yes, probably you have the same problem like me.
@pcristi is working on that issue.

onyxx1995

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
    • View Profile
Re: Q5/Q10 Pro - Auto framerate switching - HIMEDIAPLAYER PATCH
« Reply #63 on: July 20, 2016, 09:26:32 PM »
Ok...let me say something...
First,sorry  for English

Everybody here have problem about 23.976fps and autoswitch.
This is my combination: himedia q5pro with coustom 1.0.5 frimware,original hdmi cable,external 3tb wd HDD usb3.0,optical cable to Marantz AR.5.1,TV Philips 65pus7600..i am using only himedia player ,24 off,hdmi RAW,SPDIF RAW,HBR 5.1...not using kodi at all
EVERITHING IS WORKING GREAT!  23,976 ,24 ,25 ,29.97 ,59.940,60...1080p,2160p...everything.

DVD VIDEO_TS  folder, DVD iso,BD iso,BDMV,3D...as i sad...everything...i tried to play all of this and is working great!
No micro this or micro that,no jump this or jump that...in any seconds  20,30,40,46,60....whatever second

This is my best spended money in last couple of years and i am vary happy whith this hardware.
VERY HAPPY!!

So,looun,futeko or anybody,am i a liar,blind or i made bingo with my equipment?
Liar---not this time ;D
Good match with equipment---maybe
Blind---with all this talk in this thread,very possible :) :)


Mr. 23.976

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Q5/Q10 Pro - Auto framerate switching - HIMEDIAPLAYER PATCH
« Reply #64 on: July 20, 2016, 09:55:13 PM »
I will test this setting. Did you test .mkv files too?
Videoenhancer or something enabled on your tv?
I hope you are not blind and your eyes are good.    ;D

onyxx1995

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
    • View Profile
Re: Q5/Q10 Pro - Auto framerate switching - HIMEDIAPLAYER PATCH
« Reply #65 on: July 20, 2016, 10:14:38 PM »
I hope too :D....yes, i have lots of mkv,avi,mp4,ts files.himedia is set to 1080p60 4:2:0 10bit(4:4:4 10 bit on hi an tv dont see diference,maybe iam blind ;D ;D)and tv is hdmi1 uhd 4:2:0...i want my tv to do upscale...its doing great...i put himedia to 2160p60 4:2:0 8bit only when i watch 4k files.wont change to 10bit dont know why,but i dont miss it
Videoenhance,motion ....every thing on tv is set to off....picture is great.
When i play movie,tv goes black for about half second,then movie starts...so i think that switching is working for me

And yes,one more thing....i did not check on tv video info of any file that i played....i am not interested in that what its said.everything is working fine.
If you play 23fps file and your tv says 24 and movie is smooth,leave it
My moto is ---DONT FIX IT IF ITS NOT BROKEN!!

PS:i am in car race for living...so i think that my eyes are ok...there are many fps  ;D ;D ;D ;D
« Last Edit: July 20, 2016, 10:35:04 PM by onyxx1995 »

switchblade

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
Re: Q5/Q10 Pro - Auto framerate switching - HIMEDIAPLAYER PATCH
« Reply #66 on: July 20, 2016, 10:39:32 PM »
For perfectly smooth video reproduction, as video material can be recorded in a variety of frame rates (23.976fps, 24fps, 25fps, 29.97fps, 30 fps, etc.) which need to be properly matched by the refresh rate of the display, in order to be displayed smoothly.

so ..
Video fpsHDMI output Hz
2424 Hz
23,976(24/1001)23,976 hz
25/5050 hz
30/6060 hz
59.940(60/1001)59.940 hz
29.970(30/1001)59.940 hz ( 29.970 x 2 )

   
   
   

I have a dumb question.

If the Auto switching patch or fix is now part of the most recent firmware, then why would anyone need to load this  patch?  I would think this thread would go dead.

Does this mean that auto switching was NOT fixed in the recent firmware release?

 HiMedia Video Player with 24P enable support only 50/60<>23,976/24, doesn't work with 50 <> 60,50 <> 59.94 or 60 <>50 hrz ecc.. ).

himedia player video  support auto-switch to only 24P:
Android OS  setting ->  video fps -> HDMI switch output
1080p/2160 50 hz ->24/23.976 fps   -> 24/23.976 hz
1080p/2160 60 hz -> 24/23.976 fps -> 24/23.976 hz


this script increse to FULL auto-swtich:
Android OS  setting ->  video fps -> HDMI switch output
1080p/2160 50 hz ->24/23.976 fps   -> 24/23.976 hz
1080p/2160 60 hz -> 24/23.976 fps -> 24/23.976 hz

Android OS  setting ->  video fps -> HDMI switch output
1080p 50 hz -> 59.97 fps ->59.97 hz
1080p/2160 50 hz -> 60 fps -> 60 hz

Android OS  setting ->  video fps -> HDMI switch output
1080p 60 hz -> 59.97 fps  -> 59.97 hz
1080p/2160 60 hz ->  50 fps  -> 50 hz

That was a awesome reply - thank you very much!  Even I get it now LOL

pcristi

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1191
    • View Profile
Re: Q5/Q10 Pro - Auto framerate switching - HIMEDIAPLAYER PATCH
« Reply #67 on: July 21, 2016, 12:48:41 AM »
@stack fix for reported situation
http://www.mediafire.com/?9scd3gn0xm3r3tc

1.0.10
- fix script not work for specific situation report by some users

Did you tried after restart of the unit?
If yes, probably you have the same problem like me.
@pcristi is working on that issue.

jeps

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
Re: Q5/Q10 Pro - Auto framerate switching - HIMEDIAPLAYER PATCH
« Reply #68 on: July 21, 2016, 09:23:15 AM »
Thank you so much pcristi for your work.
Now i (finally) works.


Phantom

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Q5/Q10 Pro - Auto framerate switching - HIMEDIAPLAYER PATCH
« Reply #69 on: July 21, 2016, 09:42:06 AM »
Not need run as  as administrator.

Simple Duble click  RUN_ME.bat.

Now it works. Tnx a lot ;)
One more question, what for there are additional commands like "force on" or "force off" auto frame switching in the patch menu? I've chosen "force on" command, so I did the right thing I hope.
« Last Edit: July 21, 2016, 10:11:54 AM by Phantom »

Nice Monkey

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 838
  • Loves classic movies
    • View Profile
Re: Q5/Q10 Pro - Auto framerate switching - HIMEDIAPLAYER PATCH
« Reply #70 on: July 21, 2016, 10:26:04 AM »
One more question, what for there are additional commands like "force on" or "force off" auto frame switching in the patch menu? I've chosen "force on" command, so I did the right thing I hope.

These commands are provided to (temporary) disable the switching feature. Force OFF with DISABLE it and Force On will ENABLE it again.
Will become for sure a menu settings item in the final Himedia implementation.
Suggested variable Auto Frame-rate: OFF/24P/ALL which could also replace the Force script variable. That way one can decide to use it only for 24P.

After initial install the feature is enabled and a re-boot is done automatically. No need to use any additional command.

For me it works great. Once more my thanks. ;)
« Last Edit: July 21, 2016, 10:47:12 AM by Nice Monkey »

manley

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
    • View Profile
Re: Q5/Q10 Pro - Auto framerate switching - HIMEDIAPLAYER PATCH
« Reply #71 on: July 21, 2016, 10:42:52 AM »
I have installed the script as dsecribed and have turned off the 24Hz in the Himedia settings. In the Advanced settings of the player 24Hz is also displayed do I alter this or is this just showing that the script is actually working as it should?
Thanks for the good work.

'24Hz' whilst playing a video in Menu - Advanced options is the equivalent of turning 24Hz on/off in main settings (Home screen - Settings - playback) but for that one file only.

If you're using the auto-switch patch then both settings should be off. So there no need to change the 24Hz setting when playing a video.

In the Advanced Menu the 24hz cannot be turned off, I tried to close it but it always stays on the 24Hz. Any suggestions?

Nice Monkey

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 838
  • Loves classic movies
    • View Profile
Re: Q5/Q10 Pro - Auto framerate switching - HIMEDIAPLAYER PATCH
« Reply #72 on: July 21, 2016, 10:52:29 AM »
In the Advanced Menu the 24hz cannot be turned off, I tried to close it but it always stays on the 24Hz. Any suggestions?

The script in fact overrules both settings. One more reason to follow my suggested  new setting as a replacement for both.
Also suggest to add a remark when running the script with a warning that these 24P standard settings are overruled.
« Last Edit: July 21, 2016, 10:58:00 AM by Nice Monkey »

oktober

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
Re: Q5/Q10 Pro - Auto framerate switching - HIMEDIAPLAYER PATCH
« Reply #73 on: July 21, 2016, 03:58:24 PM »
have himedia planned to give full frame switch feature in his firmware?
I think is a "must have" function in a media player.

futeko.com

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4357
    • View Profile
Re: Q5/Q10 Pro - Auto framerate switching - HIMEDIAPLAYER PATCH
« Reply #74 on: July 21, 2016, 04:33:43 PM »
have himedia planned to give full frame switch feature in his firmware?
I think is a "must have" function in a media player.

It will be in the next firmware. There is a beta already.

Functionally it will be the same as this patch (and in fact based on the same code).

 

DELIVERY  :  WARRANTY / RETURNS  :  FAQ  :  BREXIT  :  ABOUT
Price in £GBP with conversion by Paypal (more info). UK+EU delivery includes VAT at 20% (more info). Privacy Policy. © SDHDIGITAL LTD 2020