FREE+FAST WORLD SHIPPING
UK STOCK   2 YEAR WARRANTY
FEATURED  :  MEDIA BOX  :  ALL  :  FORUM  :  CONTACT
Zidoo Z9S
Feature packed 4K HDR Android box with auto resolution + framerate switching, UHD/BD menus and Hi-Fi audio.

Author Topic: Zidoo Z1000, Z9S, Z10 FAQ  (Read 5125 times)

futeko.com

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4158
    • View Profile
Zidoo Z1000, Z9S, Z10 FAQ
« on: October 30, 2018, 09:40:03 AM »
System

* Install Google Play Store? Zidoo firmware does not include Google Play Store by default. Play Store / Google Play Services can inhibit Android device (all devices, not just Zidoo) media performance by running tasks in the background. If you want to install Play Store manually you can do so by installing this apk: http://apidl.zidoo.tv/app/GappsInstaller-rtk-7.1_v1.2.1.apk
* Where to get apps without Play Store? Android apps are simple .apk Java packages and do not need Play Store to run. They are available on many sites, e.g. apkmirror, uptodown. Either download .apks to a USB or network location then access using Zidoo file browser, or download using Chrome on your Zidoo box. Apps installed in this way are visible in box menus and function exactly the same as if downloaded from Google Play Store.
* An alternative to Play Store? There are alternative app stores which do not alter the system or run in background. An example is Aptoide, it will give you easy install of latest apps. https://en.aptoide.com/
* Root Zidoo Z1000/Z9S/Z10? Firmware 2.2.65 and later can be rooted using a single apk. Here: https://www.mediafire.com/?kjk68bekb46e70k. Discussion of how to root earlier firmware is here: http://www.futeko.com/newforum/index.php?topic=3909.0
* Access OpenWRT for Samba/NFS/Aria2/Transmission server? Find the IP address of your Z1000/Z9S/Z10/X20/X20 Pro on your local network. Home screen - About. (e.g. 192.168.0.33) and access that IP address on a web browser connected to same network (e.g. 192.168.0.33). The default password is a blank space (highly recommended to change it on first use!).
* Get Zidoo system log? Very useful for debugging errors. See here: https://www.zidoo.tv/Support/guide_step/guide_target/Z%2B3XS%2B3%5Bld%5DZnVKKmVViAFMcQ%3D%3D.html
* Control4 drivers? See here: https://drivers.control4.com/solr/drivers/browse?q=zidoo

Remote Control

* Zidoo box Android/iOS remote app? Firmware 2.2.78 and later support Zidoo's remote app. Available through Play Store here: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.zidoo.control.phone or by direct download here (v 1.3.2): https://www.mediafire.com/file/8pr4hp0hmobftas/zidoo_controller_v1.3.2.apk/file
* Other network connected device as remote? Use any PC/Mac/TV/phone/tablet with a web browser as a remote. Find the IP address of your Z1000/Z9S/Z10/X20/X20 Pro on your local network. Home screen - About. (e.g. 192.168.0.33) and access that IP address with :9528 added on a web browser connected to same network (e.g. 192.168.0.33:9528).

Zidoo Home Theatre

* Easier editing of Zidoo Home Theatre library? Find the IP address of your Z1000/Z9S/Z10/X20/X20 Pro on your local network. Home screen - About (e.g. 192.168.0.33) and access that IP address with :9528 added on a web browser connected to same network (e.g. 192.168.0.33:9528). You'll have access to comprehensive media database management including posters/backdrop/collections.
* How to name video files for best scraping (matching correct details to video)? For best results the video should be named the same as IMDB / TVBD. In most cases this will be 'title (year)'. The idea is the same as for Kodi, guide here: https://kodi.wiki/view/Naming_video_files/Movies#Media_Tags_.2F_Flags
* Some video still not being scraped? Try to rescan several times in Zidoo Home Theatre. It shouldn't be like this, but you will find that the first scan may not find all videos. The next scan (Home Theatre - Settings - Source - Update) will find some of those missing, and the scan after that will find more. After about 5 scans you will have reached final total. When it's complete, and with reasonably named video files, Zidoo Home Theatre will auto find 95%+ of mainstream movies.
* DivX files not playing? DivX files play well if fourcc headers are changed to xvid. This is a licensing problem coming from the DivX Corporation. Use this app (Windows / Linux / Mac) to change fourcc from divx to xvid: https://www.tweaking4all.com/home-theatre/fourcc-changer/

Kodi

* Kodi with Zidoo hardware acceleration? Zidoo have created their own fork of Kodi called ZDMC. It uses an external player for playback of local video (like HiMedia+wrapper). Download version 18.2 here: http://forum.zidoo.tv/index.php?threads/zdmc-18-2-available.48729/
* Which versions of regular Android Kodi work? All versions run, with the limitations of software video decoding (no auto frame rate / resolution switch, stuttering at high bitrates) and max 2.0 channel audio.

Misc

* Netflix APK for Zidoo? SD only. This APK: https://netflixhelp.s3.amazonaws.com/netflix-4.16-200217-release.apk See here for info: https://help.netflix.com/en/node/57688

Firmware

Firmware downloads and questions? See our Z1000/Z10/Z9S firmware thread: https://www.futeko.com/newforum/index.php?topic=4092.0
« Last Edit: July 24, 2019, 09:03:28 AM by futeko.com »

Peter6700

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Zidoo Z9S, Z10 FAQ
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2018, 07:14:18 PM »
Hi I want ask about firmware to Zidoo Z10

futeko.com

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4158
    • View Profile
Re: Zidoo Z9S, Z10 FAQ
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2018, 10:34:42 AM »

Paulo72

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Re: Zidoo Z9S, Z10 FAQ
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2019, 05:55:29 PM »
Hello,
The zidooZ9S looks good.  I have a Himedia Q5pro.  How does is compare, and does STB Emulator Pro works stable on it?
Regards,
Paulo

Nice Monkey

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 760
  • Loves classic movies
    • View Profile
Re: Zidoo Z9S, Z10 FAQ
« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2019, 05:50:20 PM »
Hello,
The zidooZ9S looks good.  I have a Himedia Q5pro.  How does is compare, and does STB Emulator Pro works stable on it?
Regards,
Paulo
If you want to use also STB functionality then a Dinobot is the real answer. Very similar (better) than Himedia Q5 Pro and also a very good STB (running Enigma). Futeko seems to have stopped selling those because of poor sales not because of quality problems. Still available in Germany.

Mount81

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1004
    • View Profile
Re: Zidoo Z9S, Z10 FAQ
« Reply #5 on: June 20, 2019, 10:26:52 AM »
Is it true that Zidoo's have trouble with VP9 encoded video playback?

THX!

Nice Monkey

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 760
  • Loves classic movies
    • View Profile
Re: Zidoo Z9S, Z10 FAQ
« Reply #6 on: June 20, 2019, 10:47:46 AM »
Is it true that Zidoo's have trouble with VP9 encoded video playback?

THX!
- VP9.2 does not work. There are only some "demo" video

Mount81

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1004
    • View Profile
Re: Zidoo Z9S, Z10 FAQ
« Reply #7 on: June 22, 2019, 05:21:51 PM »
Is it true that Zidoo's have trouble with VP9 encoded video playback?

THX!
- VP9.2 does not work. There are only some "demo" video

So no YT-extracted regular and streaming contents are concerned? Meaning also 2160p / HDR videos of course.

Mount81

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1004
    • View Profile
Re: Zidoo Z1000, Z9S, Z10 FAQ
« Reply #8 on: August 23, 2019, 11:55:16 AM »
Hello!

Those who have the official PlayStore installed and also have/using some apps installed form there, did ever experienced any problems regarding, as mentioned in the FAQ? And what would be the real cause of these, some Android firmware incompatibility or the lack of the Zidoo players hardware resources?  Just curious, cause never heard PS can cause such an issues on other Boxes like HiMedia... :::?

Thanks!

MKLM22

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Zidoo Z1000, Z9S, Z10 FAQ
« Reply #9 on: September 10, 2019, 07:35:58 PM »
Would You mind telling me if the Zidoo Z1000, with chipset Realtek 1296, would decode the "Dolby Vision" in 4K videos ?!?

Thanks.

futeko.com

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4158
    • View Profile
Re: Zidoo Z1000, Z9S, Z10 FAQ
« Reply #10 on: September 11, 2019, 09:06:04 AM »
There is no media player that will decode Dolby Vision. Dolby won't issue licence for media players, only UHD BD Players for playback.

 

Zidoo Z1000
Professional 4K HDR media box with 3.5” internal HDD bay, auto resolution + framerate switching, UHD/BD menus, Hi-Fi audio and Zidoo media interface.
DELIVERY  :  WARRANTY / RETURNS  :  FAQ  :  BREXIT  :  ABOUT
Price in £GBP with conversion by Paypal (more info). UK+EU delivery includes VAT at 20% (more info). Privacy Policy. © SDHDIGITAL LTD 2019