UK BASED ∙ UK STOCK ∙ ESTABLISHED 2010
2 YEAR WARRANTY ∙ FAST DELIVERY
EXPERT TECHNICAL SUPPORT
21-OCT INSTALL COREELEC ON UGOOS AM9 PRO   08-OCT INTRODUCING UGOOS AM9 PRO   22-SEP ZIDOO 8K FIRMWARE 1.3.45   08-SEP INSTALL COREELEC ON UGOOS SK4 PRO
This forum was closed in October 2025 in response to sustained DDOS type attacks. It has been left up read-only to allow access to support information and downloads. Thanks to all the users who contributed over the years.

Author Topic: What happens when you flash  (Read 2663 times)

gioiosani

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
What happens when you flash
« on: June 27, 2017, 01:23:40 PM »
Does the system rom or the new flash software on the usb stick delete all the flash memory or just enough to load the the new version.
and does that include Kodi and all its addons.
is better to delete kodi before flashing so nothing is left behind.
Is it advisable to remove the Rii remote usb dongle, hard drive and sd card before flashing.
My box is lockes up with starting and exiting Kodi and shutting down  I have already downgraded from 2.0.3 to 2.0.1 due to ST process stopping.
When I first got my box on the 4th time I turned it on it locked up even after turning off the power and back on several times.
I had to press the reset pin and power on, I got the coloured ring you get when you flash your box.
If I press reset and turn on the box again will that flash to 2.1.3 or 2.0.1 or just reset all settings to a clean default setting

futeko.com

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4657
Re: What happens when you flash
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2017, 01:40:39 PM »
Does the system rom or the new flash software on the usb stick delete all the flash memory or just enough to load the the new version.
and does that include Kodi and all its addons.
is better to delete kodi before flashing so nothing is left behind.
Is it advisable to remove the Rii remote usb dongle, hard drive and sd card before flashing.
My box is lockes up with starting and exiting Kodi and shutting down  I have already downgraded from 2.0.3 to 2.0.1 due to ST process stopping.
When I first got my box on the 4th time I turned it on it locked up even after turning off the power and back on several times.
I had to press the reset pin and power on, I got the coloured ring you get when you flash your box.
If I press reset and turn on the box again will that flash to 2.1.3 or 2.0.1 or just reset all settings to a clean default setting

If you flash using the reset/restore button according to the instructions in our firmware threads it will wipe the box entirely and install the new firmware.

If you flash using Settings - Upgrade it will install new firmware whilst keeping old data. I would not recommend doing this as app versions will be different between firmware version and you'll get unpredictable results.

I would recommend removing other USB devices + HDD when re-flashing although it shouldn't make any difference.

If you boot with reset/restore button pressed but no USB stick with upgrade file inserted the box will do a factory reset (same as Settings - More - Factory Reset). I don't recommended doing this as you'll lose some system apps that are usually installed at first boot after firmware install. The correct way to reset Q5/Q10 Pro is to do a reset/restore button method firmware reinstall.

 

DELIVERY PAYMENT WARRANTY+RETURNS INTERNATIONAL TAX NEWS OLD FORUM ABOUT PRIVACY CONTACT
© SDHDIGITAL LTD 2026
SITEMAP