FAST DELIVERY EXPERT TECH SUPPORT
UK STOCK   2 YEAR WARRANTY
MEDIA BOX     DELIVERY INFO    FORUM    CONTACT
Zidoo NEO S
  
Professional 4K Dolby Vision Hi-Fi audio Home Theatre Media Player with dual ESS DACs and 5" OLED display.
  INCLUSIVE OF EXPRESS 1-2 DAY DELIVERY 

Author Topic: [PATCH] Mount storage by UUID / Label  (Read 102533 times)

pcristi

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1303
    • View Profile
Re: [PATCH] Mount storage by UUID / Label
« Reply #30 on: December 29, 2016, 02:12:53 PM »
Hello
disk-by-label --> Need to be on ASCII 437, and all label unique.
If you still not get working send me on private message blkid result.
Code: [Select]
adb connect <ip player>
adb shell blkid

Hello, I still have a problem after running the patch ( I chose standard installation)
My Q10 pro has firmware 1.0.8 2016-10-12.193826 .  It has an external usb 3 hard disk (3TB) and an internal sata hard disk 4 TB. Both work correctly and  I can access them both with the file explorer  and as samba windows share with my windows pc as well. 

After the install if I select  the disk by uuid  folder I see them both and I also see their content, while if I select the disk-by-label  I see both labels (volume for the usb one and store4tb for the internal) but   the internal hard disk is seen as empty (no folders and no files are displayed).

Thank you very much.
Best regards
Giacomo

giacomo.antonioli

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: [PATCH] Mount storage by UUID / Label
« Reply #31 on: January 02, 2017, 02:12:50 PM »
Hello, the hard drive is still seen as empty if I browse it by label. I sent you,  as you asked me, the result of  the blkid adb shell command.
Should I, although the labels are ASCII  437 and unique  change the  current internal hard disk label (Store4TB). If I do it I should run again the path right?
Thank you very much.
Regards
Giacomo

oxanna

  • Guest
Re: [PATCH] Mount storage by UUID / Label
« Reply #32 on: January 03, 2017, 05:16:31 PM »
in the new firmware 1.0.9 for Android 5.1, the storage mount patch by UUID / label
It has been inserted ?

tmihai20

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 331
  • Smart devices enthusiast
    • View Profile
    • My blog (mostly Romanian)
Re: [PATCH] Mount storage by UUID / Label
« Reply #33 on: January 03, 2017, 05:53:45 PM »
in the new firmware 1.0.9 for Android 5.1, the storage mount patch by UUID / label
It has been inserted ?

I am pretty sure that this patch is not included in any official firmware.
Riddle me this, riddle me that
Who is afraid of the big, black bat?
TV: Sony Bravia  KD-55XG8505 (4K, HDR - Dolby Vision)
TV: 42LA641S (42 inches, 3D, fullHD)
Player: Q10 Pro with HMD-2.0.0 2016-11-17.181855

futeko.com

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4515
    • View Profile
Re: [PATCH] Mount storage by UUID / Label
« Reply #34 on: January 04, 2017, 08:59:57 AM »
It's not in any firmware yet.

The 2.0.1 beta has an early version of it, but the patch is better. We wait to see what 2.0.1 official will bring.

oxanna

  • Guest
Re: [PATCH] Mount storage by UUID / Label
« Reply #35 on: January 07, 2017, 10:00:38 PM »
I have 8 HDDs storage  attached to the player Himedia Q5 pro with Android 5.1. it work well and open all 8 disk everytime, sometimes  loses cover films only.
I  want to pass to android 7.
 about  the patch what means "Only first 4 mounted disks will be linked" ?
......that can be attached only 4 hard disks ,in all ? or 4  hard disk   for each host usb port ?
my problem is that I passed to Android 7 and  every boot, the 8 hard-disk  are not read all  . sometimes it opened  only 2 , another only 3
So,  I have applied the patch but not solve the problem for me.
I tried to mount the all 8 disk  using the folder " disk-by UUID" and another time by " disk by label " , but  at every boot it not opens  the 8 disk all,  and always lose the cover and films informations .
I went back to Android 5.1.with much regret, but at least so it opens all disks.
« Last Edit: January 07, 2017, 10:29:17 PM by oxanna »

futeko.com

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4515
    • View Profile
Re: [PATCH] Mount storage by UUID / Label
« Reply #36 on: January 09, 2017, 09:01:06 AM »
I have 8 HDDs storage  attached to the player Himedia Q5 pro with Android 5.1. it work well and open all 8 disk everytime, sometimes  loses cover films only.
I  want to pass to android 7.
 about  the patch what means "Only first 4 mounted disks will be linked" ?
......that can be attached only 4 hard disks ,in all ? or 4  hard disk   for each host usb port ?
my problem is that I passed to Android 7 and  every boot, the 8 hard-disk  are not read all  . sometimes it opened  only 2 , another only 3
So,  I have applied the patch but not solve the problem for me.
I tried to mount the all 8 disk  using the folder " disk-by UUID" and another time by " disk by label " , but  at every boot it not opens  the 8 disk all,  and always lose the cover and films informations .
I went back to Android 5.1.with much regret, but at least so it opens all disks.

At the moment with Android 7 + patch the limit is 4 attached drives.

I expect there to be no limit with the official solution in firmware 2.0.1.

tenner

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: [PATCH] Mount storage by UUID / Label
« Reply #37 on: January 14, 2017, 12:23:26 AM »
please help im a newby im getting really frustrated with drives moving positions ive downloaded the patch and follow instructions but im still having problems I don't know if the patch is not working or im doing something wrong I would love a more detailed guide im sorry guys I love this box apart from this issue please help me ive got a 6tb sata drive and a 2tb usb drive and 256gb usb dongle (to copy files). And on my pc through network  calling my 6tb sata sda 2  its calling my 2tb usb drive sda1 also calling my 256gb dongle sda1 I think that's the problem im not sure any help would be much appreciated
« Last Edit: January 14, 2017, 01:03:55 AM by tenner »

futeko.com

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4515
    • View Profile
Re: [PATCH] Mount storage by UUID / Label
« Reply #38 on: January 16, 2017, 09:13:57 AM »
please help im a newby im getting really frustrated with drives moving positions ive downloaded the patch and follow instructions but im still having problems I don't know if the patch is not working or im doing something wrong I would love a more detailed guide im sorry guys I love this box apart from this issue please help me ive got a 6tb sata drive and a 2tb usb drive and 256gb usb dongle (to copy files). And on my pc through network  calling my 6tb sata sda 2  its calling my 2tb usb drive sda1 also calling my 256gb dongle sda1 I think that's the problem im not sure any help would be much appreciated

This patch doesn't change drive name for Samba server (as you see them through PC), only for drives when seen from Q5/Q10 Pro apps.

DancesWithChickens

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
Re: [PATCH] Mount storage by UUID / Label
« Reply #39 on: February 04, 2017, 02:29:35 AM »
I replaced my HDD in my Q10 Pro with a bigger one.
Its path used to be /mnt/media_rw/sda1

Powered down, put the new HDD in, powered up...
...the path is now /mnt/media_rw/sda2

Why?  ???
This screws up all my database files i have with KODI.
How can i change it back to sd1?

futeko.com

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4515
    • View Profile
Re: [PATCH] Mount storage by UUID / Label
« Reply #40 on: February 06, 2017, 08:27:28 AM »
I replaced my HDD in my Q10 Pro with a bigger one.
Its path used to be /mnt/media_rw/sda1

Powered down, put the new HDD in, powered up...
...the path is now /mnt/media_rw/sda2

Why?  ???
This screws up all my database files i have with KODI.
How can i change it back to sd1?

You can't change it manually. That is the problem that this patch addresses. I suggest installing this patch and changing your Kodi database so it points to the drive mounted according to label.

tmihai20

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 331
  • Smart devices enthusiast
    • View Profile
    • My blog (mostly Romanian)
Re: [PATCH] Mount storage by UUID / Label
« Reply #41 on: February 06, 2017, 08:55:24 AM »
I replaced my HDD in my Q10 Pro with a bigger one.
Its path used to be /mnt/media_rw/sda1

Powered down, put the new HDD in, powered up...
...the path is now /mnt/media_rw/sda2

Why?  ???
This screws up all my database files i have with KODI.
How can i change it back to sd1?

If you have an SD card, a USB stick inserted then the HDD would probably be seen as sdb1. I use 2 HDDs, an internal one and an external one. I feared that they would probably switch the order they are being detected, but I had zero issues on any firmware (but I only have one partition on any HDD). Unplug everything and make sure you only have the internal HDD connected. Connect anything after it boots. Or you can use this patch to have it mounted in the same folder everytime.
« Last Edit: February 06, 2017, 08:57:13 AM by tmihai20 »
Riddle me this, riddle me that
Who is afraid of the big, black bat?
TV: Sony Bravia  KD-55XG8505 (4K, HDR - Dolby Vision)
TV: 42LA641S (42 inches, 3D, fullHD)
Player: Q10 Pro with HMD-2.0.0 2016-11-17.181855

DancesWithChickens

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
Re: [PATCH] Mount storage by UUID / Label
« Reply #42 on: February 06, 2017, 09:35:55 AM »
I replaced my HDD in my Q10 Pro with a bigger one.
Its path used to be /mnt/media_rw/sda1

Powered down, put the new HDD in, powered up...
...the path is now /mnt/media_rw/sda2

Why?  ???
This screws up all my database files i have with KODI.
How can i change it back to sd1?

You can't change it manually. That is the problem that this patch addresses. I suggest installing this patch and changing your Kodi database so it points to the drive mounted according to label.

So i have to install this patch every time i update the firmware from now on?
I'd rather leave it as sd2, if that doesn't change again.

@tmihai20:
The internal HDD is all i have connected.

tmihai20

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 331
  • Smart devices enthusiast
    • View Profile
    • My blog (mostly Romanian)
Re: [PATCH] Mount storage by UUID / Label
« Reply #43 on: February 06, 2017, 11:46:46 AM »
I replaced my HDD in my Q10 Pro with a bigger one.
Its path used to be /mnt/media_rw/sda1

Powered down, put the new HDD in, powered up...
...the path is now /mnt/media_rw/sda2

Why?  ???
This screws up all my database files i have with KODI.
How can i change it back to sd1?

You can't change it manually. That is the problem that this patch addresses. I suggest installing this patch and changing your Kodi database so it points to the drive mounted according to label.

So i have to install this patch every time i update the firmware from now on?
I'd rather leave it as sd2, if that doesn't change again.

@tmihai20:
The internal HDD is all i have connected.

Yes, you have to install the patch every time you flash a new release. Does it have several partitions? It is strange that it is seen as sda2 right now.
Riddle me this, riddle me that
Who is afraid of the big, black bat?
TV: Sony Bravia  KD-55XG8505 (4K, HDR - Dolby Vision)
TV: 42LA641S (42 inches, 3D, fullHD)
Player: Q10 Pro with HMD-2.0.0 2016-11-17.181855

futeko.com

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4515
    • View Profile
Re: [PATCH] Mount storage by UUID / Label
« Reply #44 on: February 06, 2017, 02:38:41 PM »
Yes, you have to install the patch every time you flash a new release. Does it have several partitions? It is strange that it is seen as sda2 right now.

Storage mounted by UUID was a part of a 2.0.1 private beta firmware that never made it into 2.0.1 final.

Hopefully HiMedia will add it to future firmware so the patch doesn't have to be reinstalled.

 

DELIVERY    WARRANTY / RETURNS    PAYMENT    ABOUT
Privacy Policy. © SDHDIGITAL LTD 2021