FREE+FAST WORLD DELIVERY
UK STOCK   2 YEAR WARRANTY
MEDIA BOX  :  FORUM  :  CONTACT
Zidoo Z1000 Pro
New generation Zidoo Media Player based on Realtek 1619DR chipset. 3.5" HDD bay. HDR10+, HDR, Dolby Vision VS10. Zidoo Media Interface and Zidoo Home Theatre.  £349.99  €398  $467

Author Topic: Q10 Pro Firmware update went wrong, the Box is now unusable (2.1.4 to 2.1.7)  (Read 953 times)

Mount81

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1065
    • View Profile
Hello!

So here's what happened: an user tried to update from official 2.1.4 to 2.1.7 with the paperclip method, but it somehow failed and the Box had stuck with a blank blue screen and still unusable since. Plugging off/on the adapter doesn't helped, nor to trying to reinstall the 2.1.4 FW, the box seems totally unresponsive. The lights are on like this on the front panel.

The 2.1.7 FW was downloaded from the himedia.hu Forum's link.

Please advice what could have possibly go wrong and a solution to try to fix it!

Thanks!   
« Last Edit: August 29, 2020, 06:22:00 AM by Mount81 »

manley

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
    • View Profile
Everything went ok first time for me when changing from the custom firmware 2.1.6 to the new official 2.1.7 but I'm not sure if I will stick with it as I still think overall I may prefer the custom 2.1.6 firmware

DMD

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 283
    • View Profile
I don't know if you've already tried.
Holding the resets button without updating USB pen drive.
However, OFW 2.1.7 can be downloaded from the pcristi server
https://www.mediafire.com/?58akd6hjzv5ga
Hash MD5: 159E932AB9C97BD42FB40172265CFE1B
« Last Edit: August 29, 2020, 09:05:50 AM by DMD »
HiMedia Q5 Pro and Q10 Pro (OFW 2.1.7) | Kodi 18.8 (skin AeonMQ 8 2.9.0) |  Remote Rii Mini MX3 | Splitter HDMI HDFury AVR-KEY | Display LG 65B6V | Cables HDMI KabelDirekt Pro series | Audio processor Yamaha RX-V775 | Rotel RMB-1075

Mount81

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1065
    • View Profile
I don't know if you've already tried.
Holding the resets button without updating USB pen drive.
However, OFW 2.1.7 can be downloaded from the pcristi server
https://www.mediafire.com/?58akd6hjzv5ga
Hash MD5: 159E932AB9C97BD42FB40172265CFE1B

Have tried that, but no result.

So I'm still waiting for some other suggestions...

Mount81

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1065
    • View Profile
Edit: this post was meant to be a reply to pcristi's post here, which seams now being deleted meanwhile... ???
Edit 2: He's post is back again, but as a new one...???
-------

It looks like, he can return the Box in warranty, chances are good, as everything happened in the "official way", that he can end up getting a working Box again from the seller (but not 100% sure yet).

The method you posted is quite difficult and I guess a bit dangerous as well, so we leave this as a very final resolve. 

As I know recovery check if FW is Hi3798CV200 or Hi3798MV200 FW then need to be reject before to get brick because of load DDR4 bootloader(Q100) on Q10Pro(DDR3), but only HiMedia can confirm this.

Q10Pro with Q100 bootloader not sound good at all.
Keep me finger cross to him to get success recovery.

Sorry, but it's barely understandable what you have meant in the quoted sentences. Could you somehow form it a bit more clearer? Maybe has it something related to the himedia.hu site's version of the 2.1.7 FW? (Which is diagnosed by you as a "wrong version", as mentioned in the 2.1.7 FW Thread here, which is still unclear exactly why...)

And thanks for the reply!
« Last Edit: August 29, 2020, 01:28:56 PM by Mount81 »

pcristi

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1193
    • View Profile
First if are lucky and box still have days of warranty contact reseller to help with mistake link from himedia.hu forum.
Try installing a real Q10Pro firmware with shortcut circuit (bootargs.bin, fastboot.bin, recovery.img) need on the USB stick.
extract bootargs.img, fastboot.img, recovery.img from update.zip
Rename:
     - bootargs.img -> bootargs.bin
     - fastboot.img  -> fastboot.bin
     - recovery.img == recovery.img
     - update.zip    == update.zip
- Follow process described here
https://www.futeko.com/newforum/index.php?topic=1622.msg14469#msg14469
Note if box come with old PCB can try direct recovery to Android 5.1.1 as is written on msg14469

As I know recovery check if FW is Hi3798CV200 or Hi3798MV200 FW then need to be reject before to get brick because of load DDR4 bootloader(Q100) on Q10Pro(DDR3), but only HiMedia can confirm this.

Q10Pro with Q100 bootloader not sound good at all.
Keep me finger cross to him to get success recovery.

pcristi

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1193
    • View Profile
Sorry, but it's barely understandable what you have meant in the quoted sentences. Could you somehow form it a bit more clearer? Maybe has it maybe something related to the himedia.hu site's version of the 2.1.7 FW? (Which is diagnosed by you as a "wrong version", as mentioned in the 2.1.7 FW Thread here, which is still unclear exactly why...)

And thanks for the reply!

Ask user to check on FW load on his box on update.zip/build.prop/ro.build.product=?
Download link get from HiMedia
Code: [Select]
Q100: http://www.mediafire.com/file/59n7qkdira0x52e/file
Q10Pro: http://www.mediafire.com/file/1bqf7zcpejcjw96/file
Q5Pro: http://www.mediafire.com/file/9121zzg522pgdf1/file
Q30: http://www.mediafire.com/file/zoy5vg4qukrf4qr/file

himedia.hu forum
Original in Hungarian

Google translated


LE: add image in Hungarian language.
LE2: add note and disclaimer.
LE3: change image in English language to make more visible on himedia.hu behind of label Q10 Pro is link for Q100.

Note: on this post are link witch HiMedia share it and stl correct on his post.

Disclaimer:
futeko.com are responsible about any problems cause of install wrong version firmware share on himedia.hu as Q10 Pro v2.1.7 2020-08-26.
« Last Edit: August 29, 2020, 10:16:36 PM by pcristi »

DMD

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 283
    • View Profile
These are the differences between files downloaded from the Hungarian site (http://himedia.hu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=380) and those of pcristi (https://www.mediafire.com/?58akd6hjzv5ga)
The Q5Pro firmware is identical, the Q10 firmware is not.

update Q5pro HiMedia.hu forum

MD5: 7D82677793B1C178C6D26BB599737D19

update Q5Pro HMD-2 1 7 2020-08-17 150032 (pcristi)

MD5: 7D82677793B1C178C6D26BB599737D19

update Q10pro HiMedia.hu forum

MD5: 28D0CDF9213D77EFBBE5C0B728935384

update Q10Pro HMD-2 1 7 2020-08-18 140128 (pcristi)

MD5: 159E932AB9C97BD42FB40172265CFE1B
« Last Edit: August 29, 2020, 02:59:26 PM by DMD »
HiMedia Q5 Pro and Q10 Pro (OFW 2.1.7) | Kodi 18.8 (skin AeonMQ 8 2.9.0) |  Remote Rii Mini MX3 | Splitter HDMI HDFury AVR-KEY | Display LG 65B6V | Cables HDMI KabelDirekt Pro series | Audio processor Yamaha RX-V775 | Rotel RMB-1075

Mount81

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1065
    • View Profile
Yes, I have already figured out the size difference of the two different Q10 Pro FW update files, but my main question is still unanswered. So what are the differences (regarding else and more important than just the file size) and why is the himedia.hu version stated as "the wrong version"?

stl

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 618
    • View Profile
Yes, I have already figured out the size difference of the two different Q10 Pro FW update files, but my main question is still unanswered. So what are the differences (regarding else and more important than just the file size) and why is the himedia.hu version stated as "the wrong version"?

The Hungarian forum is posting a link for the Q100 firmware as the the firmware for the Q10 Pro.

pcristi

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1193
    • View Profile
Size difference of OFW between Q100 and Q10Pro is cause by on Q100 are on included chrome.apk as application.
Main problems off crossing flash FW is memory type Q10Pro(DDR3-1866_2GB_8bitx4_4layers) vs Q100(DDR4-2133_2GB_16bitx2_2layers).

Note:
- Q10Pro/Q5Pro are DDR3 SoC Hi3798CV200.
- Q100/Q30 are DDR4 SoC Hi3798MV200.

DMD

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 283
    • View Profile
On the Hungarian forum they corrected the download link for Q10 Pro. Also they will write something about how to fix the problem of who had downloaded the wrong FW
http://himedia.hu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=380#p3562
HiMedia Q5 Pro and Q10 Pro (OFW 2.1.7) | Kodi 18.8 (skin AeonMQ 8 2.9.0) |  Remote Rii Mini MX3 | Splitter HDMI HDFury AVR-KEY | Display LG 65B6V | Cables HDMI KabelDirekt Pro series | Audio processor Yamaha RX-V775 | Rotel RMB-1075

 

DELIVERY  :  WARRANTY / RETURNS  :  FAQ  :  BREXIT  :  ABOUT
Price in £GBP with conversion by Paypal (more info). UK+EU delivery includes VAT at 20% (more info). Privacy Policy. © SDHDIGITAL LTD 2020