FREE+FAST WORLD SHIPPING
UK STOCK   2 YEAR WARRANTY
MEDIA BOX  :  FORUM  :  CONTACT
HiMedia S500
New HiMedia HiSilicon media box running Google Certified Android TV 9.0. Imprex 2.0 image enhancement. Bluetooth voice remote.

Author Topic: Media Player gets stuck on some DVD ISO's . Playing well using KODI  (Read 4059 times)

Nice Monkey

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 765
  • Loves classic movies
    • View Profile
From my DVD collection in ISO format some get stuck at start up using Media Center  (circling icon and no image).
I can exit the movie but the media player itself remains stuck as it won't play anything anymore.
The only way to get Media Center playing again is doing a full re-boot.

The offending media are ISO's made from DVD's all playing on a real BD-player. Most have a menu and they play well using KODI using FW 1.05 and KODI Jarvis 16.1 as included with the latest update. ISO's are packed using the most recent ImgBrn.
The problem is not new as it was present since the initial FW1.01 already and reported in my general review. Since it still has not been fixed a dedicated report is made here now.

Please let me know what you need for debugging. Will unpack first to a folder and redo the test.
Can forward an image (DVD-5) if desired.
« Last Edit: July 16, 2016, 12:24:19 PM by Nice Monkey »

looun

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 550
    • View Profile
    • himedia Pro Blog
Re: Media Player gets stuck on some DVD ISO's Playing well using KODI
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2016, 09:50:48 AM »
with kodi + HI  Frequency Switcher(addon) work fine?

Nice Monkey

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 765
  • Loves classic movies
    • View Profile
Re: Media Player gets stuck on some DVD ISO's Playing well using KODI
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2016, 11:34:01 AM »
with kodi + HI  Frequency Switcher(addon) work fine?

No, it is a default install with pcristi frame-rate switcher added. Happened since release 1.01 already.
DVD's are PAL or NTSC.

The play fine with standard KODI (always did also with earlier versions).

Did an UNINSTALL for the pcristi script. Next did unpack the ISO to a DVD Folder. The result stays the same as expected.
Discovered that after many minutes waiting media play re-starts to work (ISO or Folder) also without a re-boot.
« Last Edit: July 16, 2016, 12:20:36 PM by Nice Monkey »

futeko.com

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4192
    • View Profile
If you could upload the DVD image somewhere so that we (and HiMedia) can test it that would be ideal.

No need to make it public. Either send by PM or email. mail@futeko.com

futeko.com

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4192
    • View Profile
I see the problem on the sample you sent me.

Have just spent some time looking at the structure of the DVD folder and can't see anything abnormal..

I'll forward the problem to HiMedia.

At least with DVD you can play with Kodi in the meantime.

Nice Monkey

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 765
  • Loves classic movies
    • View Profile
I see the problem on the sample you sent me.

Have just spent some time looking at the structure of the DVD folder and can't see anything abnormal..

I'll forward the problem to HiMedia.

At least with DVD you can play with Kodi in the meantime.

Thanks. I am confident that it can and will be solved. 

Have transferred a large physical  DVD collection  to ISO format. These all played flawless on Philips, Samsung and Pioneer BD-players originally.
Several won't run on Q10 Pro now. If I run into play problems with other symptoms then I will  share additional samples.

DancesWithChickens

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 134
    • View Profile
Re: Media Player gets stuck on some DVD ISO's . Playing well using KODI
« Reply #6 on: August 01, 2016, 09:17:09 AM »
Yesterday, i ripped ~ 20 of my DVDs to the Q10 Pros internal HDD - all of them play using either wrapper or KODIs DVD player.
So i do not seem to have the "stuck at start up" issue.

But:
Most ISOs (not all of them) will start directly at the movie, not the DVD menu.
I can only get to the DVD menu using KODIs DVD player, clicking OK, then navigating to the "menu" button in the OSD controls.

Using the wrapper, settings are also not kept.
E.g. every movie starts with subtitles enabled, i always have to turn them off.

-_-


DancesWithChickens

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 134
    • View Profile
Re: Media Player gets stuck on some DVD ISO's . Playing well using KODI
« Reply #7 on: August 01, 2016, 02:52:21 PM »
I did more testing with my DVD ISOs.

Wrapper is superior for playback than KODIs DVD player, the picture is sharper and the colours are more vibrant.

But Himedias own player needs various fixes:

It only plays the main movie, there is no possibility to go to the DVD menu.

Audio selection is buggy.
The languages one can select from often do not play the correct audio stream.

Subtitles are always enabled and have to be turned off with every new playback.

Chapter selection is a few seconds off.


So all in all, DVD playback leaves a lot to be desired. :(

 

DELIVERY  :  WARRANTY / RETURNS  :  FAQ  :  BREXIT  :  ABOUT
Price in £GBP with conversion by Paypal (more info). UK+EU delivery includes VAT at 20% (more info). Privacy Policy. © SDHDIGITAL LTD 2019