futeko.com FORUM

Current Product Support => HiMedia Q10 Pro, Q5 Pro => Topic started by: same240 on October 07, 2018, 03:36:25 PM

Title: Disable Q10 Pro WiFi
Post by: same240 on October 07, 2018, 03:36:25 PM
Hi,
I prefer to use 1Gbps of Ethernet port instead of WiFi because of I always transfer big files over the ethernet between Q10 Pro & NAS, is that possible
disable auto turn ON WiFi when boot up?
Really need advice on this, thanks.


Q10 Pro Info:
Firmware: v2.0.8
Android: v7.0
Kernel Version: 3.18.24
Title: Re: Disable Q10 Pro WiFi
Post by: maelor on October 07, 2018, 04:10:14 PM
Hi,
I prefer to use 1Gbps of Ethernet port instead of WiFi because of I always transfer big files over the ethernet between Q10 Pro & NAS, is that possible
disable auto turn ON WiFi when boot up?

Likewise!

In HiMedia's AppManager, click on "Settings"

Move along the icons to the rightmost "More" and click on it

The first option you should see is "Wi-fi" - click on it and switch it to OFF.

You might want to do the same to Bluetooth if you don't use that?
Title: Re: Disable Q10 Pro WiFi
Post by: same240 on October 08, 2018, 05:24:28 PM
Thanks for the tips, this is the step I always do when turn on Q10 Pro, but what I want is the WiFi will not automatically turn ON when I switch ON Q10 Pro, is it possible?
Title: Re: Disable Q10 Pro WiFi
Post by: maelor on October 09, 2018, 11:10:41 AM
You should not have to do this every time you switch the box on. Once you switch off the wifi by following the instructions above the wifi should stay off!
 
If your wifi comes back on when your reboot, you have a problem somewhere?
Title: Re: Disable Q10 Pro WiFi
Post by: manley on October 09, 2018, 11:48:22 AM
I switch the wifi off just as you outlined but I also find as soon as I switch the Q10 back on again the wifi is also switched on, so I don't think its a fault its just the way the firmware/software works.
Title: Re: Disable Q10 Pro WiFi
Post by: same240 on October 09, 2018, 01:51:08 PM
You should not have to do this every time you switch the box on. Once you switch off the wifi by following the instructions above the wifi should stay off!
 
If your wifi comes back on when your reboot, you have a problem somewhere?
When Q10 Pro boot on in the beginning, the WiFi still off, but after it loaded everything at background, the WiFi automatically turn on. Is your Q10 Pro will stay off?

I switch the wifi off just as you outlined but I also find as soon as I switch the Q10 back on again the wifi is also switched on, so I don't think its a fault its just the way the firmware/software works.
Looks like it is not only me, what is your firmware version? My is v2.0.8 @ v7.0.
Title: Re: Disable Q10 Pro WiFi
Post by: manley on October 09, 2018, 03:29:42 PM
I'm on the latest Pro Custom Firmware and wifi still turns on after new boot.
Title: Re: Disable Q10 Pro WiFi
Post by: maelor on October 09, 2018, 06:29:24 PM
Just checked and you are right guys ???!

I've tried setting and rebooting several times and the Wi-Fi will NOT stay OFF! This has to be a bug! Or could it be another app which is automatically switching it back on again at reboot  ::)?

I'm using HiMedia Q10 Pro; Official Firmware 2.0.9; Android 7.0

The Bluetooth does stay OFF though!
Title: Re: Disable Q10 Pro WiFi
Post by: stl on October 10, 2018, 07:02:37 AM
Unscrew the wifi antenna until Himedia fix this (probably never...)
Title: Re: Disable Q10 Pro WiFi
Post by: same240 on October 10, 2018, 02:38:41 PM
Just checked and you are right guys ???!

I've tried setting and rebooting several times and the Wi-Fi will NOT stay OFF! This has to be a bug! Or could it be another app which is automatically switching it back on again at reboot  ::)?

I'm using HiMedia Q10 Pro; Official Firmware 2.0.9; Android 7.0

The Bluetooth does stay OFF though!
Oh, yeah I also think about there is app that auto trigger WiFi on, but how to check?
Just wondering is anyone's Q10 Pro will stay OFF after boot up?  ::)

Yeah, for bluetooth, it's stay OFF.
Title: Re: Disable Q10 Pro WiFi
Post by: Phil181 on October 11, 2018, 12:34:52 PM
My understanding of how it works is you either have wired ethernet OR wifi but not both at the same time. 
I am an ethernet user and wifi is definitely off for months at a time, until I want to switch to use it for some reason (like the phone/internet  line is dead temporarily).
Title: Re: Disable Q10 Pro WiFi
Post by: saltino on October 11, 2018, 04:24:05 PM
I'm on the latest Pro Custom Firmware and wifi still turns on after new boot.

It's the same here

I use TASKER for setting OFF at boot
Title: Re: Disable Q10 Pro WiFi
Post by: same240 on October 12, 2018, 04:14:19 PM
My understanding of how it works is you either have wired ethernet OR wifi but not both at the same time. 
I am an ethernet user and wifi is definitely off for months at a time, until I want to switch to use it for some reason (like the phone/internet  line is dead temporarily).
No, in my unit v2.0.8, both can ON at the same time, but i'm not sure which one it will use.
Title: Re: Disable Q10 Pro WiFi
Post by: maelor on October 13, 2018, 12:50:36 PM

Just wondering is anyone's Q10 Pro will stay OFF after boot up?  ::)


I did manage to get it to stay off by editing the build.prop file in System. You need Root access to do this  ??? ???!
It did work BUT it brought up more problems so I would NOT advise it!
Title: Re: Disable Q10 Pro WiFi
Post by: saltino on October 15, 2018, 09:55:50 AM
Solved in 2.10 firmware

Now WIFI still OFF away trought a reboot
Title: Re: Disable Q10 Pro WiFi
Post by: same240 on October 15, 2018, 11:03:09 AM
Just wondering is anyone's Q10 Pro will stay OFF after boot up?  ::)

I did manage to get it to stay off by editing the build.prop file in System. You need Root access to do this  ??? ???!
It did work BUT it brought up more problems so I would NOT advise it!
Good to know this, thanks for sharing.


Solved in 2.10 firmware

Now WIFI still OFF away trought a reboot
Really? OK, will try upgrade then.
Title: Re: Disable Q10 Pro WiFi
Post by: maelor on October 15, 2018, 03:39:46 PM
Solved in 2.10 firmware

Now WIFI still OFF away trought a reboot

I have to disagree with you on that!

In the Settings, does yours say "Wi-Fi" followed by "Disconnected"???
But click on "Wi-fi" and you will see that It is actually "ON". We want it "OFF" permanently.

There is a difference between "Disconnected" and "Disabled".
We want "Wi-Fi" followed by "Disabled"!
Title: Re: Disable Q10 Pro WiFi
Post by: manley on October 22, 2018, 08:50:38 AM
I've only tried it a couple of times but the new customised firmware leaves the wifi off even after a reboot.
Title: Re: Disable Q10 Pro WiFi
Post by: same240 on October 25, 2018, 03:43:41 PM
oh, i still not yet try the v2.1.0.
Can we highlight this to futeko about this so hope can resolve in next update?
Title: Re: Disable Q10 Pro WiFi
Post by: maelor on October 25, 2018, 08:23:38 PM
I've only tried it a couple of times but the new customised firmware leaves the wifi off even after a reboot.

What makes you think that the Wi-Fi is off?? In the Settings, does it say:

Wi-Fi
Disconnected

or

Wi-Fi
Disabled

It's only OFF when it says "Disabled"
Title: Re: Disable Q10 Pro WiFi
Post by: manley on October 26, 2018, 08:06:59 AM
Update to my earlier reply unfortunately the new revised customised firmware doesn't switch off the wifi on reboot.
Title: Re: Disable Q10 Pro WiFi
Post by: same240 on October 27, 2018, 11:12:24 AM
For v2.0.8, when Q10Pro in early boot up, the WiFi is OFF (Yes, if you go in the WiFi setting, it show disable).
But after 1 or 2 minutes more, the WiFi auto turn ON  :o
Some apps trigger WiFi to ON?  ???
Title: Re: Disable Q10 Pro WiFi
Post by: pcristi on November 08, 2018, 08:15:39 AM
For me with clean install of HiMedia OFW v2.1.0 and CFW v2.1.0[1.3.1] is look to be keep OFF after power circle / reboot.
Can others test if is solved?
Title: Re: Disable Q10 Pro WiFi
Post by: Mount81 on November 11, 2018, 04:41:19 AM
Why is there a need to turn off the Wi-Fi? Does it connect every time, even if the Ethernet cable is connected? In this case which connection does it use for real? I guess it can't be using both at the same time.

The simplest solution is to delete your Wi-Fi authentication from the list. I don't get it what's so difficult in this...?
Title: Re: Disable Q10 Pro WiFi
Post by: rollingrock on May 29, 2019, 05:02:42 AM
Why is there a need to turn off the Wi-Fi? Does it connect every time, even if the Ethernet cable is connected? In this case which connection does it use for real? I guess it can't be using both at the same time.

The simplest solution is to delete your Wi-Fi authentication from the list. I don't get it what's so difficult in this...?

It is not just the connection to the login wifi but the software button keeps switching on at every new reboot. For myself it interferes with the LAN connection somehow and using the device is sluggish, keep getting pop up messages app has stopped working and must wait or exit or it seizes the device, the whole network  connection shuts down sometimes and requires to reconnect the LAN.

When either the LAN or wifi is singly connected these problems do not  arise.
Title: Re: Disable Q10 Pro WiFi
Post by: kodiloaded on May 29, 2019, 01:13:45 PM
I am running CFW 2.1.1 and WIFI turns on with every boot
Title: Re: Disable Q10 Pro WiFi
Post by: pcristi on May 29, 2019, 02:49:22 PM
I am running CFW 2.1.1 and WIFI turns on with every boot

WiFi need stay OFF start with OFW v.2.1.0 and CFW v2.1.0[1.3] if not once on install application trigger location or user open HiMedia Network Settings.
How to test do clean install, go to Settings/More Settings/WiFi set OFF, power OFF/restart box, then check again Settings/More Settings/WiFi will see is still OFF.  After that working as need, start to see witch user application force it ON.

Note: WiFi OFF need to be check it on Settings/More Settings/WiFi don't expected to get on Android Settings report "WiFi disabled" after reboot/power circle.
Title: Re: Disable Q10 Pro WiFi
Post by: rollingrock on July 02, 2019, 03:41:31 PM
Reinstalled firmware 2.1.1 completely, wifi switches itself on after every boot. Uninstalled all apps and it still switches on. I have disconnected from the from all wifi access points  login but still see all the access points. SOmehow this is affecting my device.

If I do not go into settings and switch the button off to (disable) then I still get interference with the LAN and keep getting pop messages wait or close app or whatever process is running several times. This device is really sluggish.

This does not happen on any of my other tv boxes, Q30, Q5, A5, M8s Pro, Minix and H96 pro plus.

At every boot have to go into settings ad switch off the wifi to stop the device hanging or getting constant popup messages wait, close app or send feedback.

Honestly, how hard can it be for the Himedia specialist to solve this.
Title: Re: Disable Q10 Pro WiFi
Post by: kodiloaded on July 02, 2019, 06:22:26 PM
I am running CFW 2.1.4 and WIFI stays off once you disable it, Has never turned itself on.
Title: Re: Disable Q10 Pro WiFi
Post by: rollingrock on July 03, 2019, 02:17:31 AM
I am running CFW 2.1.4 and WIFI stays off once you disable it, Has never turned itself on.

OK Thanks, I will give this a try, did not install this version because there were some remarks in the forum that some characters in one of the apps shows up in a foreign language.
Title: Re: Disable Q10 Pro WiFi
Post by: rollingrock on July 03, 2019, 03:46:20 AM
I am running CFW 2.1.4 and WIFI stays off once you disable it, Has never turned itself on.

OK Thanks, I will give this a try, did not install this version because there were some remarks in the forum that some characters in one of the apps shows up in a foreign language.


OK thanks, after install this firmware and then reset the box twice the wifi now stays off at reboot. Much happier.
Title: Re: Disable Q10 Pro WiFi
Post by: yalwaysme on November 03, 2019, 01:09:36 PM
I am running CFW 2.1.4 and WIFI turns itself on after every reboot, this start happening after I installed termux and rclone, any ideas to disable it permanently?
Title: Re: Disable Q10 Pro WiFi
Post by: rollingrock on November 09, 2019, 09:16:11 AM
I was not able to stop wifi turning itself back on in FW 2.14 even after reinstall the FW, when starting the himedia the wifi starts by itself, the wifi then somehow interferes with the lan connection and the network performance is terrible when both wifi and lan are on.

This is an old problem and I think himedia are ignoring it and it will never be fixed.

By the way the problem eexists with fw 2.14 on q10, q5pro and q30.

Had to go back to FW 2.12 where turning the wifi stays off.

There is a problem in the 2.14 fw