UK BASED. All stock shipped from Manchester, UK.
FREE+FAST
WORLDWIDE SHIPPING
FROM THE UK
2 year warranty
Expert forum based technical support
No hidden taxes UK/EU
FEATURED   MEDIA BOX   BUNDLES   OTHER
CART   FORUM   CONTACT
Dinobot U5 Mini
DVB TUNER
ANDROID TV
ENIGMA 2
WIDEVINE L1
IN STOCK

Author Topic: Color space which setting to select?  (Read 1654 times)

Mount81

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 695
    • View Profile
Re: [Q10 Pro] Color space which setting to select?
« Reply #15 on: June 08, 2018, 10:07:22 AM »
I've already linked the chart that explains what modes you can have with 4K resolution and different output frequencies. In the case of 1080p TV the best you can get is to set to 444/10bit or 8bit. ->Again, check with your own eyes what you would find -maybe a slightly- better during video playback.  Even in the case of 8bit videos you may can get equal or even a slightly bit better result with 10bit (and even if you'r TV is 8bit only).

To make the above test correctly with 4K TV: Set it to 4K and 420/10bit and play a 4K/10bit video, and than check with the tool if it switches to 444/10bit or 422/10bit during video playback.  The best and most desired result would be 444/10bit.

Would be suggested to keep the above settings and also test it with 1080p/8bit videos. 444/10bit would be the best result indeed.   

If you set it on any 4K/8bit mode, than I guess it won't adapt the bitdepth according to the source, so it will stay on 8bit even if you play a 10bit video. But you can also check this with that tool.



DMD

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
    • View Profile
Re: [Q10 Pro] Color space which setting to select?
« Reply #16 on: June 11, 2018, 02:03:27 PM »
I did a test
as soon as the HiMedia is turned on, it is set YCbCr420 10 bit




When I play a 4K HDR file, it is set as it should be



One problem I found is this:
If I first launch an SD or HD non-HDR file, with YCbCr 422 color space, and after I launch the 4K HDR file again, the color space is "locked" on YCbCr422, as shown by Info Diagnostic Tool (The file is 59.940fps)




By restarting the HiMedia and launching the 4K HDR file first, the color space is YCbCr420 10 bit.

I do not understand why this happens.
« Last Edit: June 11, 2018, 03:30:15 PM by DMD »
HiMedia Q5 Pro and Q10 Pro (OFW 2.0.4) -  Kodi 17.6 (skin AeonMQ 7 2.0.7.9) -  Remote Rii Mini MX3

nmou88

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
    • View Profile
Re: [Q10 Pro] Color space which setting to select?
« Reply #17 on: June 11, 2018, 02:34:39 PM »
Does 4:2:2 switch automatically to 10 when playing hdr video ?

DMD

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
    • View Profile
Re: [Q10 Pro] Color space which setting to select?
« Reply #18 on: June 11, 2018, 03:26:31 PM »
No.
When it's just turned on, if I first launch 4K HDR file I get 420 @ 10bit.
When it is in the 422 state, if I launch the 4K HDR file, it does not switch to 420 @ 10bit.
However, the display switches to HDR mode.
« Last Edit: June 11, 2018, 03:47:24 PM by DMD »
HiMedia Q5 Pro and Q10 Pro (OFW 2.0.4) -  Kodi 17.6 (skin AeonMQ 7 2.0.7.9) -  Remote Rii Mini MX3

nmou88

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
    • View Profile
Re: [Q10 Pro] Color space which setting to select?
« Reply #19 on: June 11, 2018, 11:03:02 PM »
No.
When it's just turned on, if I first launch 4K HDR file I get 420 @ 10bit.
When it is in the 422 state, if I launch the 4K HDR file, it does not switch to 420 @ 10bit.
However, the display switches to HDR mode.
I want to know if it switch to 422 @ 10 from 422 @ 8bit
I already know it doesn't switch to 420
« Last Edit: June 11, 2018, 11:04:39 PM by nmou88 »

Mount81

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 695
    • View Profile
Re: [Q10 Pro] Color space which setting to select?
« Reply #20 on: June 12, 2018, 05:39:19 AM »
I did a test
as soon as the HiMedia is turned on, it is set YCbCr420 10 bit




When I play a 4K HDR file, it is set as it should be



One problem I found is this:
If I first launch an SD or HD non-HDR file, with YCbCr 422 color space, and after I launch the 4K HDR file again, the color space is "locked" on YCbCr422, as shown by Info Diagnostic Tool (The file is 59.940fps)




By restarting the HiMedia and launching the 4K HDR file first, the color space is YCbCr420 10 bit.

I do not understand why this happens.

So does it stay on 422 8bit or 10bit? 422 10bit with 59.94Hz would be -theoretically- impossible as for anything 50Hz and beyond on 4K res.

Isn't it an interlaced or MBAFF video with originally 29.97fps? Maybe the tool reports back the output frequency or the colorspace incorrectly.

If it shows 422 8bit -that would be rather possible-, how I presume, then the player just fails to switch back to 420 10bit. What does it show in the settings after you played the HD videos?

And you can also try it with a 23.976fps 10bit UHD video, what happens than with the colorspace and the bit depth?



DMD

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
    • View Profile
Re: [Q10 Pro] Color space which setting to select?
« Reply #21 on: June 12, 2018, 05:21:30 PM »
I tried to set the YCbCr 444 8bit color space, and with this setting it always stays fixed with both 4K HDR files and HD and SD files.





At this point what is better to set 422 (bit?) or 444 8bit?

« Last Edit: June 12, 2018, 05:53:10 PM by DMD »
HiMedia Q5 Pro and Q10 Pro (OFW 2.0.4) -  Kodi 17.6 (skin AeonMQ 7 2.0.7.9) -  Remote Rii Mini MX3

Mount81

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 695
    • View Profile
Re: [Q10 Pro] Color space which setting to select?
« Reply #22 on: June 12, 2018, 06:00:48 PM »
As I wrote many times before: -theoretically- at same bit depth level, 444 is always the best option. As well as to check the difference with your own eyes, and decide regarding which you -may- find slightly better. At most cases there would be minor differences anyway between 422 and 444, but they also might can be perceptible. The safer to say is to set it to 444. This only in the case if those both give you 8bit during playback.

As the best still would be, if you could have it switched to 10bit somehow for 10bit videos, as in most cases 10bit rather can make more significant PQ enhancement.

If the setting 422 (no bits) gives you any 4xx 10bit output while playing a 10bit video, I would go for that one for sure. 
« Last Edit: June 12, 2018, 06:10:40 PM by Mount81 »

DMD

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
    • View Profile
Re: [Q10 Pro] Color space which setting to select?
« Reply #23 on: June 12, 2018, 06:12:18 PM »
The problem of this player I could not understand why it does not keep the settings [email protected]
HiMedia Q5 Pro and Q10 Pro (OFW 2.0.4) -  Kodi 17.6 (skin AeonMQ 7 2.0.7.9) -  Remote Rii Mini MX3

Mount81

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 695
    • View Profile
Re: [Q10 Pro] Color space which setting to select?
« Reply #24 on: June 12, 2018, 09:07:18 PM »
Have you tried with any OFW?

DMD

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
    • View Profile
Re: [Q10 Pro] Color space which setting to select?
« Reply #25 on: June 12, 2018, 09:19:41 PM »
No! only FWC 2.0.4
HiMedia Q5 Pro and Q10 Pro (OFW 2.0.4) -  Kodi 17.6 (skin AeonMQ 7 2.0.7.9) -  Remote Rii Mini MX3

Mount81

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 695
    • View Profile
Re: [Q10 Pro] Color space which setting to select?
« Reply #26 on: June 12, 2018, 09:32:05 PM »
Maybe someone with OFW could test this. I can't since i don't have a 4K TV.

DMD

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
    • View Profile
Re: [Q10 Pro] Color space which setting to select?
« Reply #27 on: June 12, 2018, 10:25:20 PM »
Is look like you forgot to add code line on Q5Q10PRO-OUPUTINFO.bat file.
Code: [Select]
adb shell "grep Color /proc/msp/hdmi0"Please added somewhere after line 21/22.

grep command will add info like that
Code: [Select]
DeepColorMode  : 30                    SpdInfoEnable  : NO
OutColorSpace  : YCbCr444              MpegInfoEnable : NO
ColorSpaceAdapt: NO                    DeepColorAdapt : NO
I apologize for forgetting to thank you for suggesting that I enter the commands in the diagnostic program.
Thank you

After line 20 I added a few lines to remind me of the values of DeepColor.

Code: [Select]
echo --------------------------------------------------
echo REMEMBER: DeepColorMode 24=8Bit 30=10Bit 36=12Bit
echo --------------------------------------------------
« Last Edit: June 13, 2018, 07:09:13 AM by DMD »
HiMedia Q5 Pro and Q10 Pro (OFW 2.0.4) -  Kodi 17.6 (skin AeonMQ 7 2.0.7.9) -  Remote Rii Mini MX3

DMD

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
    • View Profile
Re: [Q10 Pro] Color space which setting to select?
« Reply #28 on: June 14, 2018, 06:34:43 PM »
I've done some tests and it works 10 bit even with YCbCr444 color space, but only at the 30Hz frame rate.
Having selected HDMI auto adaptation, the resolution of HiMedia is automatically set to that of the 2160P 60Hz display Oled 4K, also with demo movies or filming with fps 60Hz it is impossible to use the 10 bit color space.  :-\
However, the doubt remains if this condition also occurs with the official Firmware. 
« Last Edit: June 14, 2018, 06:52:29 PM by DMD »
HiMedia Q5 Pro and Q10 Pro (OFW 2.0.4) -  Kodi 17.6 (skin AeonMQ 7 2.0.7.9) -  Remote Rii Mini MX3

Mount81

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 695
    • View Profile
Re: [Q10 Pro] Color space which setting to select?
« Reply #29 on: June 15, 2018, 05:21:16 AM »
Why you did set HDMI auto adaptation on, what's the need of that? It's rather advised to leave it OFF in most cases.

You mean it switches form 422 (no bits) to 444 10bit with 30Hz/fps videos? Didn't you mean 23.976Hz/fps? And in the case of 60Hz/fps 10bit videos it switches to 422 8bit? With 60fps and 10bit videos it should switch (or stay on) 420 10bit as the best case. Try both settings 422 (no bits) and 420 10bit on 60Hz.

 

DELIVERY      WARRANTY      RETURNS      FAQ      BREXIT      ABOUT      CONTACT      
PayPal Acceptance Mark
Prices are charged in £GBP with conversion at Paypal's current rate. The Euro / $USD price on our site is approximate. More info here.
Cookie Policy. Prices for UK + EU delivery include VAT at 20%. © SDHDIGITAL LTD 2017. All rights reserved.